The historic character of the church
The wide 13th century Chancel is almost entirely medieval internally. The choir stalls incorporate 17th century bench poppy heads. The Nave was extended and pews installed in 1848 with a vestry, porch and octagonal bell turret with two bells added. Extensive work was done in 2014 for which a grant from English Heritage Lottery Fund was made (approximately half the cost) to replace the Chancel roof, the east and south walls of the Chancel were structurally tied and repointed, together with some repointing to other walls of the church.
In 2020 the Nave roof was replaced, with the help of grants from National Churches Trust and many other grant bodies to match the funds raised locally, and the church was rewired and redecorated. The sound system was updated, together with an updated heating unit – all of this work was undertaken whilst the church was out of action for Covid 19 restrictions. The church is now in good order structurally with the completion of this 10 year project.
‘Sweet Winston’ by Brian Clarke – A history of a Teesdale Village.
This fascinating book is still available in a limited number and can be obtained by calling 01325 730434 or using the contact form for further information.